fbpx
Bobo Gallagher - A Boy's Journey

A Boy’s Journey – Crossing the Alenuihaha

11 YEAR-OLD BOBO GALLAGHER’S STORY

The Alenuihaha Channel has a foreboding reputation known as some of the most treacherous waters of Hawaii. Spanning almost 30 miles between the big island and Maui, reaching a max depth of 6,810 feet, “Alenuihaha” means “great billows smashing” in the Hawaiian language and is not a body of water to be taken lightly.

In July of 2020, 11-year-old Bobo Gallagher set out to cross the Alenuihaha Channel via Foil Wing. With the help of his family and huge community of supporters, many of who are renowned Hawaiian watermen, he successfully became the youngest person to cross the channel by personal watercraft and also the first person to ever do it via Foil Wing. To share the journey of this momentous feat, Bobo and his team have released this movie:

Edited by: Deveraux Gallagher @deverauxgfilms_
Cinematographers: Jace Panebianco @jacepanebianco
Amanda Beenen Cantor @sweetwaterhawaii
Deveraux Gallagher @deverauxfilms_
Blake Hill @blakenotwriting

Featuring:
Archie Kalepa @peahi20ft
Kai Lenny @kai_lenny
Josh Riccio @joshriccio
Andrew Gallagher
Sky Solbach @skysolbach
Ken Winner
David Sacco @davidsacco
Matt Smith @mauifishdelivery
Kegan Conway @hunt.fish.hawaii
Suzie Cooney @suzie_cooney

Color-graded by: Kyle Hunt @mediaflowproductions

Visit charitywater.org for more information on how you give clean water.


READ WING SURF WORLD ISSUE #01 – COMPLETELY FREE AND DIRECTLY IN YOUR WEB BROWSER – HERE!

Learn to wingsurf feature

WSW is a hub of useful equipment and technique features / videos for wingsurf and other hydrofoil related board sports.

Wing Surf World Newsletter
Get the latest straight to your inbox